top of page

The kindness of strangers

Here are some short stories, in no particular order.


Illustration based on my hitchhiking adventures (Author’s own source)


A long way from... well, anywhere


Dirt crunched under my shoes, sweat drenched my aching body, the sun's reflection blurred my vision. Finally, the sound of an engine and wheels speeding down the road broke the silence. The ute passed. My friend sat and held his cardboard sign above his head in defeat. I threw mine in the dust storm of the ute, shouting profanities... It braked. Reversed. And stopped in front of me. The window slowly rolled down, revealing a family squished together on the small bench. They offered us a ride. Our grateful smiles pulled at our dry lips as we gathered our packs and jumped onto the back trailer, settling amongst their belongings.

A promise of food


We waited for a bus that was not coming, everything was closed and my stomach growled in protest. Two strangers attempted to convince us to follow them explaining that their Christmas celebrations resulted in too much leftover food. We dragged ourselves up a small mountain as they led the way and, as promised, a hot home-cooked meal was waiting for us.


The unexpected ride


The side of the road started to get tiresome, my arm was frozen like giving a permanent thumbs-up. Cars ignored us, slowly passing through border control. We were too dirty, even by traveller standards. A small hatchback sped by. Before we made a joke, the hatchback flew into reverse and slid to a stop in front of us. We were greeted by two ladies, who both strangely reminded me of my grandmother. We happily squished into the back seat with our packs.


Trust


The bus left me in a quiet city. I waited. I did not know this place, the country, the language. I felt a punch of unease – will the stranger I met months ago pick me up? Eventually a car pulled up, and a familiar face peered out the window. Relief washed through me as I returned their smile.

 

My first adventures have had a significant impact on me and my nomadic lifestyle today. I now remember fondly the strangers that had helped me as an even stranger stranger. Being vegan has changed how I remember these stories and how I make new ones. Respecting all life has opened me up to the kindness of strangers and shown me the importance of treating every interaction with an open non-essentialist perspective. Often how we treat others and how we travel through the world is shaped by negative experiences, our upbringing, and the media. My lifestyle helps me to spread compassion and challenge societal norms.

0 comments
bottom of page